Return to Search Page

Total Books found 175
First Previous


TODD, Alpheus [1821-1884].
On Parliamentary Government In England: Its Origin, Development, And Practical Operation.
London: Longman, Green And Co., 1867-69..
2 Volumes. 8vo. pp. xx, 629, [1], [1 leaf]; xxii, 779. with half-titles. A nice set in contemporary full chagrin by Dawson Bros. Binders all edges gilt. First Edition. Todd was librarian of the Legislative Assembly of Upper Canada and subsequently of the Dominion Parliamentary Library in Ottawa. "[His] most significant work was undoubtedly On Parliamentary Government in England.These.volumes were well received and made him an eminent authority throughout the empire. Indeed the Edinburgh Review declared that it was "a remarkable circumstance that we should be indebted to a resident in a distant colony.for one of the most useful and complete books which has ever appeared on the practical operation of the British Constitution." The Westminster Review called it "the most complete treatise" on royal prerogative and on parliamentary privilege.His treatise.emphasized the history of executive authority in the British system and "sought to vindicate for the monarchical element its appropriate sphere." (Bruce W.Hodgins, DCB, Vol. XI, p. 884) The second volume was dedicated by Todd to Sir John A.Macdonald and the late Thomas D'Arcy McGee. Sweet & Maxwell II 358.
$500 USD                          Book Number: elala3004                         Order / Enquire



TORONTO. PEN CANADA.
Three Ethiopian journalists arrested [case no. 354].
Toronto: [2002]..
12mo. pp. 74. few b/w illus. wrs. First Edition.
$40 USD                          Book Number: aly670                         Order / Enquire



VATTEL, [Emmerich] de [1714-1767].
Le Droit Des Gens, Ou Principes De La Loi Naturelle, Appliqués à la Conduite & aux Affaires des Nations & des Souverains.
Leyden: 'Aux Dépens De La Compagnie', 1758..
2 Volumes in 1. 4to. pp. 18 p.l., 228; 8 p.l., 162. title in Vol. I in red & black. engraved title vignettes. woodcut ornaments. later sheep (very worn but solid, head of spine & corners damaged, title with 2 small rubberstamps & with bookplate on verso, paper label on lower spine). Second Edition (?) (published the same year as the first) of this classic of international law. The author, a Swiss jurist and diplomat, followed in the tradition of Leibnitz and Wolff, but abandoned the mathematical method and Wolff's notion of the 'world state'. He claimed that one could discover the ultimate bais of all legal institutions, including the natural law of nations, in the concept of utility derived from the postulates of ideal reason. Vattel's work was widely read and "for decades exercised a decisive influence on statesmen." (Encyc. of Social Sciences) It found particular favour in America, where editions far outnumbered those in France. Madison included it in his 1783 list of books recommended to form a library for the Continental Congress. Camus-Dupin 145. Einaudi 5838. Higgs 1877. cfCioranescu 62938. cfGraesse VI 265. cfMarke 583. cfMarvin p. 706.
$1499 USD                          Book Number: elala269                         Order / Enquire



WATSON, Eric R. (Editor).
Trial of George Joseph Smith.
Toronto: Canada Law Book Company, Limited, [c1922]..
8vo. pp. x, [1 leaf], 329. 13 illus. cloth. First Canadian Edition. Notable British Trials Series.
$125 USD                          Book Number: kdla61                         Order / Enquire



WATSON, Eric R. (Editor).
Trial of Thurtell and Hunt.
Edinburgh & London: William Hodge & Company, Ltd., [1920]..
8vo. pp. x, [1 leaf], 217 + xiv (ads). 9 illus. cloth (stained, spine darkened, extremities frayed). First Watson Edition. Notable British Trials Series.
$100 USD                          Book Number: kdla62                         Order / Enquire



[WHELLIER, C.A.].
The Complete English Lawyer; Or, Every Man his own Lawyer; Containing A Summary Of The Constitution Of England; Its Law and Statutes.Also, The Criminal Law Of England.To Which Is Added An Appendix, Containing the most Approved Forms of Agreements, Leases, Wills and Testaments.Also, A Supplement Containing The Excise Laws, The Customs' Laws, The Assessed Taxes, The Stamp Duties.
London: Printed by R.Macdonald.For A.Whellier, 1823..
8vo. pp. 688, [4], 17-148(Supplement). engraved frontis. portrait of Charles Abbott & 5 other engraved portraits of important legal figures. contemporary calf (worn, covers detached, free-endpapers wanting, library lettering on spine & markings on front paste-down, plates slightly foxed). Eighth Edition. Sweet & Maxwell II 377.
$150 USD                          Book Number: elala1592                         Order / Enquire



WILSON, John G. (Editor).
The Trial of Jeannie Donald.
London, Edinburgh & Glasgow: William Hodge & Company, Limited, [1953]..
8vo. pp. 305. 12 illus. (1 folding). cloth (minor stains on covers, spine discoloured, extremities frayed). First Edition. Notable British Trials Series.
$100 USD                          Book Number: kdla63                         Order / Enquire



YOUNG, Filson (Editor).
The Trial of Hawley Harvey Crippen.
Edinburgh & London: William Hodge & Company, Ltd., [1920]..
8vo. pp. xxxv, 211. 7 illus. cloth (faded, stained, stitching loose). First Edition. Notable British Trials Series.
$65 USD                          Book Number: kdla65                         Order / Enquire



YOUNG, Filson (Editor).
Trial of The Seddons.
Edinburgh & London: William Hodge & Company, [1914]..
8vo. pp. xxx, 420. 8 illus. cloth (spine faded, extremities frayed, slightly shaken). First Edition. Notable British Trials Series.
$75 USD                          Book Number: kdla66                         Order / Enquire



ZELENAY, János József, praeses.
Dissertatio Historico-Critica De Prioratu Auranae. In Qua Origo, Progressus, Et Interitus, Ex Monumentis Nondum Editis, Compendio A P. Georgio Pray E S.J. Explicantur.In Regia Universitate Tyrnaviensi Selectas Positiones Ex Universo Iure Patrio-Hungari
Vienna: Josef Kurzböck, 1773..
4to. pp. 12 p.l., 120. engraved frontis. woodcut ornaments. contemporary marbled calf, gilt back (some worming to spine, corners worn, portions of text embrowned). First Edition.
$461 USD                          Book Number: LLEssZEL34                         Order / Enquire


First Previous

Warning: mysql_free_result(): 8 is not a valid MySQL result resource in E:\web\delakeco\cat-ssrch.php on line 193